The Groundswell Inside Your Company

Hello everyone!

Before I go on any personal ramblings like I usually do, I wanted to touch on another topic presented in the book Groundswell: Winning in a world transformed by social technologies (available for purchase here) by Josh Bernoff and Charlene Li. How can tapping the groundswell inside your company make employees feel empowered, connected, and more committed on a day-to-day basis?

HR and recruiting is focused on not only attracting talent to your company, but developing employees, listening to employees, and literally managing your human resources. Learning how to keep employees motivated and connected is critical to the position, and the groundswell can aid in the development of HR itself.

In my previous blogs, I think we hammered home the point about connecting with your clients and customers in the groundswell, but what about employees? Employees can be just as useful in the groundswell as consumers and they have a distinct advantage. Hopefully, employees should all have a common goal to see the company succeed, which impacts their interactions in the groundswell to be more favorable towards the organization overall. Employees can connect through internal networks, collaboration wikis, and online idea exchanges (Bernoff & Li, 2011). These can fulfill many, if not all objectives of a company: Listening, talking, energizing, supporting, and embracing.

To nurture the groundswell of your employees, it requires significant top management contribution to support, market, and nurture groundswell thinking and commitment. Social networks can spark employee communication. wikis can stoke collaboration, and idea exchanges can harness innovation (Bernoff & Li, 2011, p.248). Harnessing the power of your employees and their potential both online and offline is where HR strategy and groundswell strategy can align. Recruiters can begin to align recruitment strategies around groundswell tools.HR can be responsible for initiating groundswell strategies, training and communication groundswell thinking to employees, and developing associated policies and procedures regarding groundswell tools and applications. HR can be some of and organizations biggest groundswell champions!

So as I venture off in search of an HR career, bet your bottom dollar I’m taking my new groundswell information with me. Maybe I can turn some of what we’ve discussed into a very impressive interview answer. What do you think? ‘What’s your biggest weakness?’ ‘Well, I know an absurd amount about the POST process, let me describe it in full detail.’ It could work, embracing groundswell thinking may be almost inevitable soon.

So, we’ve made it! That’s all of the book I’ll be covering in my blogs. Are you finished? How did you enjoy it? As always, let me know down in the comments. Not sure where this blog will take me next, but expect something completely new coming soon. Stay in touch with me via Twitter @taylorkyrzyk as I figure out life post-college! Happy Holidays for those who are still here, I’ll post a picture of me and my baby Goku to celebrate my LAST ASSIGNMENT OF COLLEGE!

IMG_5561
Can you tell how excited we are?

Thanks Everyone!
– Taylor

Featured Image: Retrieved from here

Bernoff, J., & Li, C. (2011). Groundswell: Winning in a world transformed by social technologies. Boston, MA: Harvard.

 

Leave a Reply

